Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is an ongoing debate about whether government should prefer improving road or railway transport. Many people have different opinions about this issue but I do not agree with the given statement.

It is irrefutable that advantages of railways have an edge over those of roadways and hence it is factual that money should be spent on them. To initiate with the pros, the predominant benefit of trains is that they are comparatively faster mode of transport. Where public buses or cars take days to reach, trains can reach in only few number of hours. Hence, it helps to save our time. Moreover, with faster conveyance, trade between nations becomes more efficient. Also, there are certain people who cannot afford expensive flight tickets and so, they prefer subways as it is a lot cheaper than planes.

Although railways provide a number of benefits yet, I believe that asphalt mode of transport, i.e. roads, too need to be funded. As is clear that with railways , comes extra maintenance cost of trains, cleanliness and expenses such as salaries of staff, food courts etc. While on the other side, roads need no such high costs to run. In addition to this, people can also get physcial health benefits if they chose to ride a bicycle or simply just walk to their workplaces who otherwise would depend on metros. Also, in extreme conditions of floods and storms, travelling through roads is much safer than trains.

In conclusion, I would like to say that although spending money on railways seem to be a better option in the short term, but government should instead focus on drastic conditions of roads as they, unlike trains, have no disadvantages.