governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Opinions are divided on whether authorities should allocate more budget on mass transit services such as railway and subway or developing infrastructure on the road. However, my firm conclusion is that railroads have more gain than roads.

There is an enormous advantage to promoting railway and subway for our society. First and foremost, trains are environment friendly, investing in railway would decline greenhouses gases emission. For instance, if individuals have easy and convenient access to the railway and subway, considering that transportation by train is cost-effective, they will be more likely to use it. As a result, air pollution and traffic congestion would be reduced considerably on roads because of the dropping the number of private vehicles, leading to global mitigation warming.

Secondly, trains are more reliable than other vehicles such as cars and buses. Railway transportation has the ability to transport under any weather condition along routes of any distance. Also, roads are far unsafer than railroads, according to lasts(2020) statistical published by the department of transport in the united kingdom. The fatalities in a road accident and the number of people injured seriously in a car crash 20 times more significant than trains, despite that fact train accident got more attention by media compare to bus and car crash, that means any shift from public to private transport would have a detrimental effect on safety, health, and environment.

In conclusion, it is true that some people still believe in private cars and expect the government to expend more money on roads than railroads. Nevertheless, it seems there can not be enough evidence to conclude that railways are vital for our society and our next generation.