Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Railways and motor vehicles are considered the most popular transportation modes in most of the countries. While some people may prefer governments to pour greater financial resources into railways, I would argue that governments should also extend that support to public roads equally.

It is undeniable that trains have positive impacts on our daily lives and economy. High-speed trains or local subways carry hundreds of passengers easily to another side of a city for school, work or shopping in one single trip. In most cities, as people can now commute frequently and anytime at a cheaper cost, this encourages more people taking public transports than driving cars. As a result, this helps tackle the issues most cities around the globe are facing - traffic congestions and air pollution - due to fewer cars on the public roads and lesser emission of greenhouse gases. Apart from that, tourists also benefit enormously from trains as they can travel to other parts of a country at ease without the risk of being lost when driving. Many studies report that availability of trains is one of the major factors that boosts tourism industry. This is evident in Japan where Japan Railway provides thousands of connecting trains and railways reaching thousands of cities across the entire country, thus attracting millions of travellers around the world and promoting local tourism. Furthermore, the well-known bullet train, Shinkansen, allow passengers travel from Kyoto to Tokyo within three hours, compared to eight hours of a bus journey.

While railways have made travel more convenient, they also have limitations. There are undoubtedly many places simply inaccessible by trains. Also, the cost building and maintaining railways need great financial resources. Most trains can only reach a certain part of a city or district, and that undergrounds are usually only available in major cities instead of the smaller ones. On the other hand, the public roads are even more extensive and can reach every corner of a city as well as remote villages. As such, these roads need financial supports for regular maintenance and upgrade for safety purposes, so that cars, buses, cyclists and pedestrians will not encounter any potholes and can use them safely.

In conclusion, it is apparent that both railways and roads have their pros and cons. However, I believe that governments should allocate funds equally to both of them.