The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s argument that the more budget should be allocated to advertising to attract more people is questionable. Several questions that need to addressed include accessibility of their movie, feedback of the review received, and quality of their movies.

First, the author suggested that more budget should be distributed to advertising because few people have attended their movie compared to any other years. The author should look into the percentage of decrease and demographic change. Also, the author noted an increase in the review. With advanced technology and online streaming, it could be that more people are watching movies online, rather than going to cinemas. Therefore, the author should look into the demographic changes in term of movie watching and through what platform the viewers are gravitating.

Second, the author believed that their movies were not reaching to the public even though there was an increase in the content reviews. The author should also look into the kinds of review they received. If they received more negative reviewed, it was not surprise that there were less people attending their movies. Hence, author should analyze the feedback their the content reviewers provided before making a decision on how they should distribute their budget.

Third, the author also believed their movies were of good quality but could reach the public is the reason that more money should allocated to advertising. The author should reflect upon his belief by examining the feedback from the content reviewers. Through that process, the author would clearly understand if they should do more to improve the quality of their movies, or using a different channel to show their movies.

In sum, the author should address several questions of the current demographic pattern in accessing and watching movies, feedback from the content reviewers and whether they should allocate more funds to improve quality of their movies before making a decision to spending the budget on advertising.