Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

People have different perceptions on how governments should move their countries forward. While economic progress is certainly essential, I agree that progress in other aspects is equally important.

On the global stage, economic growth has always been the key indicator of every country’s development. It reveals how well a country performs on many levels, from the creation of jobs to infrastructural development and public services. A country with healthy economic development creates employment opportunities and increase income levels for most citizens. Moreover, an economic progressive ensures that governments have more budget to spend on infrastructures, such as schools, transportation system, and hospitals. Singapore, for instance, which was a third world country in 1970’s, is one of the most developed and economic successful nations today. The various job opportunities and high salaries also not only ensure high employment rate but also attract talents from all around the world to Singapore.

While ensuring countries’ economy performs well, other forms of progress are equally important. In particular, governments should also consider the dimensions of social justice, human rights, equality and democracy. For example, the treatment minority groups, gender and income equality have often seen as the progression of moral standard of a society. Furthermore, governments should also consider protection of natural environment and sustainability. Alternatively, the success of a country can be assessed by looking at the happiness and overall well-being of its people.

To conclude, in my opinion, it is evident that economy is essential to a country’s success, but social, environmental and health aspects are equally crucial.