Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Globalisation has transformed our economy by creating more businesses and jobs, and further improved living standards of thousands of people, allowing them to travel overseas. While these phenomena encourage more people to learn a new language, there are also people master a foreign language for other purposes. In my opinion, I believe that we should learn a foreign language for practical reasons.

Learning a foreign language benefits both visitors and workers abroad. Travellers who are able to converse, at least, basic phrases may help them to get around in a foreign country or starts a new friendship with the local people. Those who seek for a working opportunity abroad by and large are required to master the official language of that country so that they can assimilate well into the workplace and the society easily. In Japan, for instance, a country where English usage is limited and street signs are mostly available only in Japanese, visitors should learn a few phrases that allow them to ask for a direction when they are lost, make a payment at a shop, or simply greet or apologise to the locals when necessary. As for workers, it is inevitable that they will handle a number of documents in Japanese, and it is their responsibility to master the language so that they can communicate with their colleagues or managers. As such, having the capability to communicate in a foreign language offers a great advantage.

Apparently, the purpose of learning a language is not limited to travelling or migrating to a foreign nation for work. Moreover, English is used widely or even considered as second or third official language in many countries. Hence, most people still can learn a foreign language purely for their own interests. Numerous studies have shown that learning a foreign language can improve cognitive abilities. This is because of the diversity of language structures and logic that vary with languages. Therefore, understanding a foreign language can improve a person’s cognitive plasticity. Understandably, language can also bring benefits other than for work or travel.

In sum, with the points discussed above, I believe that we should devote our time to learn a foreign language for mainly for practical purposes, such as work and travelling. During our spare time, we may learn a new language for own interest.