Today more people are travelling than ever before.

Why is this the case?

What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Since the birth of vacation, travelling for leisure purpose was largely confined to the middle and wealthy classes. Increased accessibility to various destinations is one of the many factors that encourage travelling. The experience that travellers gain from travelling locally and abroad can also give them lifelong personal benefits.

The advancement in air transports and railways have improved considerably, compared to the mode of transportation in the early days. Aeroplanes have made travelling easier and become more affordable. AirAsia, for instance, a low-cost airline company now make flights to Hawaii from Kuala Lumpur available at a rate that is three or four times cheaper than most airlines largely accessible to the rich. Trains also help travellers get around in a city or travel to another side of a country with less hassle. This is evident in Japan, where the Shinkansen bullet trains allow passengers travelling from Kyoto to Tokyo within three hours, which is faster than eight hours bus journey. At the turn of 21st century, a variety of accommodation booking websites or mobile apps have offered a wider range of accommodation options and facilitated arrangement process. A few great examples are Airbnb, HomeAway and Expedia.com.

These technological developments have undoubtedly enhanced the local and global travel experience. At a deeper level, travellers also broaden their horizons from their travels. They have the chance to be exposed to a different language, people, sight, smell, or a completely unique culture that can be both an exciting and overwhelming experience. Siem Reap, for example, while it is renowned for its magnificent historical monument, Angkor Wat, tourists also witness the lack of proper public roads and that children frequently chase and beg tourists for money. An experience like this may allow travellers to appreciate what they have back home, understand the historical impact on current situations, and learn to respect the differences.

In conclusions, most people now can travel to most destinations they wish, owing to enhanced accessibility and technological advances. They also have the chance to gain personal growth.