A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is evident in our society that social status and material possessions have been extensively used as the benchmarks in forming a perception of one’s personal worth. While I believe that this is acceptable to some extent, yet the traditional values are equally important.

Until the recent time, it is sad to see that many powerful and wealthy people are often linked to corruption and greed. Yet, it is the extensive coverage of ultra-rich, celebrities or authorities misusing their power that has significant negative impact on our perception of social status and material possession. If these benchmarks are used with good intention, they can be a good indicator of a person’s achievement. Let us not forget that many people have successfully climbed and become on the top of the social ladder with a hard-working attitude and great determined. This means that the role they play also come with great responsibility, for example, a CEO of a company or a president of a nation, and can have significant economic and political impact on a country. Reasonably, these people receive great financial rewards for the efforts and risks they invest. Hence, they have a greater purchasing power of owning lands, vehicles or technological devices, which they may hardly have the time to enjoy. Unfortunately, such possessions are often ill-perceived by the public when reported by the media.

Despite the motivation of the social status and materialism can bring, they can cause people go down to the wrong paths when misusing authority or showing off their branded cars, clothing or luxurious properties. With that said, traditional values such as honour, kindness and trust are equally crucial. These are the values that help people to be successful, improve a country’s economy and create a peaceful society. For example, most workers in Toyota car manufacturing company are proud to serve the company and strive to produce the best quality and affordable vehicles in the world. In Japan, generosity and trustworthiness, which are highly valued in the society, build up a harmonious society and public services such as police are truly efficient and reliable.

To conclude, in my opinion, the notion of social status and possessions can motivate a person, to some extent, striving to achieve their goals. However, the old-fashioned values that have been practised for hundreds of years are equally essential in defining a personal worth.