Write about the following topic:

Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, humans are producing more waste than ever before. The current level of recycling is insufficient that it may lead to an unprecedented disaster. To mitigate this environmental issue, I endorse the idea that governments should make recycling a legal requirement.

It is evident that there is a growing awareness of recycling among the public. This is mostly because of the rising concerns of various environmental issues, from pollution to scarcity of natural resources, reported by the media or taught by educators. As such, people who are conscious of the environmental problems and implication of recycling household waste may participate wholeheartedly. However, it is no doubt that people may simply ignore such practices as they have other concerns that are more important to themselves. Therefore, purely cultivating the importance of recycling may not be enough to make a significant contribution to the environment.

While significant efforts have been poured into raising the awareness of recycling, most people still cannot be expected to willingly dedicate their time and energy to recycle. However, people may follow the rules to recycle when governments implement stringent regulations. The laws and regulation provide people with clear measures on how to recycle their waste and punishment if the rules are violated. The Waste Disposal and Cleaning Law in Japan, for instance, has ensured the majority of its citizens to fall in line with government’s policy and dispose of their waste in accordance with guidelines stated, such as categories of waste materials, garbage bag labels, and even dates and weeks. Rubbish that does not meet the requirements will not be collected. Ar worst, frequent violators will receive a fine of more than one million yen. With such clear guidelines and stiff punishment, most citizens will comply with the laws enforced.

In conclusion, with the points elaborated above, I believe that it is crucial for governments to implement laws and regulation requiring all citizens to recycle.