Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In this age of materialism, people use more and waste more. Although governments encourage their citizens to do recycling, not enough of the residential waste is done so. Therefore, I completely agree that legislators should set up stricter laws to make people recycle more.

One of the reasons that governments should make regulations regarding recycling is that law is the lowest standard of restricting people's behaviour. Whilst some may care about the environment, doing recycling; some may care only about their own convenience, throwing all trashes into one bag. If people keep ignoring the importance to of recycling, they have to incinerate more garbage. During the process of incineration, the emitted smoke and residue are harmful to the environment and people's health. As long as the laws are set up, people have to follow them. Otherwise, they will get penalties or be fined. My hometown, Taipei City, demonstrates this idea perfectly. With the laws that force people to recycle, the streets are cleaner and the air is fresher than before.

The other reason is that governments have to conserve the resources. According to the prediction of UN, the fossil resources hidden under the earth surface for manufacturing plastic products will be used up in several decades. Other than fossil resources, metals for making cans and trees for producing paper are also in danger of depletion. Actually, many domestic items or appliances are reusable after certain process. Therefore, authorities should enact laws about recycling to conserve resources.

In conclusion, I suggest that governments are obligatory to make recycling a legal requirement. It is not only for making the environment better, but also preventing from running out of resources.