Some people say that drug companies have the responsibility to spend money on researching medicine to help the poorer countries while others think the main responsibility of drug companies is making money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whilst increasing number of new drugs has been developed today, many people in the third world do not have chance to get proper medical treatment. Some people suggest that the pharmaceutical companies should invest programs to make medicine for those nations, yet I disagree with this opinion.

On the one hand, People criticise drug makers that they only produce high-profitable medicine instead of affordable one for the general public in the world. The demand of medication is not satisfied in several developing countries, especially in Africa. Congo is the country that aptly illustrates this situation. After continual revolution and civil war in successive years, the economic system broke down. The authorities are not able to afford even the basic medical infrastructure and the drugs while the people are suffering from the epidemic diseases, such as malaria and cholera. The pharmaceutical firms have to take their social responsibility, developing drugs to help all humankind, including the needy.

However, I support the view that pharmaceutical companies should pursue the biggest profit rather than put their money in inventing medicine for people under the poverty line. Large amount of money allows them to pay the bills, taxes as well as wages. Without enough revenue, they can neither maintain their facilities, nor produce conventional drug, not to mention researching for the new ones. Therefore, making money is the priority of pharmaceutical firms. Governments or inter-government organisations, such as UN or WHO, should take actions to ameliorate the condition. Pharmaceutical firms can assist the authorities, but not the major contributors.

To conclude, although pharmaceutical firms is responsible for developing drugs to help people around the world, especially the developing nations, I contend that making profits is still their priority. Without adequate financial supports, it is impossible for the firms to produce medicine for people to fight diseases.