In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The railway systems are expanding around the globe. Whilst some individuals advocate that railway companies or governments should arrange more budget for building new high speed lines, others argue that the money should be used on the optimization of existing systems. As for me, I believe that governments should examine the needs of people and industries carefully before they make decisions.

To begin with, the expansion of railway systems is demanded in some countries, especially the developing countries. With the rapid growth of economy, the transportation between cities becomes vital. Take China for instance, after the reformation of its economy policies, cities in China are experiencing huge developments. The connection between commercial centers such as Beijing and Shanghai becomes closer and more frequent than before. The authorities must extend the existing lines as well as constructing new lines for fast trains, in order to satisfy the demand of commuting. In addition, the construction program can provide plenty of opportunities of employment, which can benefits the labours in countryside or towns by the railway lines.

On the other hand, some nations have already developed large scale of high-speed rail. For example, Japan pioneers in research and development of high-speed rail. The high-speed rail, Shinkansen, owned by Japan Railways connects most of the big cities on the islands. However, the demand of commuting went saturated in recent years. Thus, the company changes its target and invest the research program on making faster trains instead of expanding the system. Also, the money are put into the maintenance of the trains, rails, and stations. On the top of that, the authorities are managing to make the connection stronger between high-speed rail and other public transportation systems, such as buses, local lines, and airplanes.

In conclusion, the aim on public transportation of countries varies. I suggest that governments or railway enterprises should do analysis and be wary of spending money on constructions.