Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is incontrovertible that seeking employment at a good company is getting more and more difficult. Some people believe that a bachelor’s degree guarantees a good job, while others contend that acquiring experience and soft skills plays a more crucial role in job hunting. In my opinion, non-academic abilities certainly make the candidate stand out from the competition, but higher education is the key to get a better job.

On the one hand, university education provides knowledge and training in specific fields, making students qualified for professional occupations. In universities, students not only attend lectures but also do the practice. After systematic academic training, a graduate has a complete understanding of his major and get the capability to do professional work. For example, a doctor must obtain a degree in medicine and finish the internship before getting the certificate. Without a solid foundation of knowledge, a doctor cannot make the right prescription.

On the other hand, some jobs of management value experience, leadership, and flexibility due to the work contents. To be a supervisor or a manager, the candidate should be armed with these skills to govern a department. However, these skills are hard to quantify. The human resource staffs have to find out a standard for hiring. The academic degree is appropriate for it. Students have to do teamwork, lead a team, and solve problems as workers at the workplace. The diploma proves that the student is skilled in professional works.

In conclusion, tertiary education makes students to develop their professional competence. The academic degree can open the door to commence the job. Of course, experience and soft skills can be ‘weapons’ at the workplace. However, without a key, the candidate cannot even get into the position. Therefore, a well-educated graduate with expertise and literacy will be a qualified candidate for a better job.