In some cities, the governments have tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

Many people drive their own car to work, making traffic congestion during rush hour. Governments have imposed an extra tax on the drivers, trying to reduce traffic. However, I consider it a negative development.

First, imposing an extra tax during rush hour cannot reduce people’s willingness to drive to work. Although paying extra money increases the burden of workers, the advantages of driving to work still outweigh that drawback. Commuting by their own car is convenient and comfortable for workers. They can alternate their schedules freely, instead of following the timetables of trains or buses. In addition, they can enjoy their own space before work. Therefore, authorities should optimise public transportation systems and launch promotion projects to attract workers. For instance, authorities can expand the subway systems as well as increase the train frequency. Otherwise, workers will not change their habit.

Furthermore, levying a congestion tax worsens the traffic. Authorities have to check the identification of every driver during the rush hour, in order to impose a tax. Drivers are forced to stop and receive examination. It is a complex work, and it takes much time for the police to make sure whether or not the information is correct. Roads would be more congested by the measure. Authorities can uplift the fare of parking and reduce the parking lots in cities. It will be more efficient for making people less willing to drive during rush hour.

In conclusion, imposing a congestion tax is neither effective nor efficient for reducing traffic during rush hour. I suggest that governments should try other measures to deal with the problem.