Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some museums have an admission charge while others do not. I believe that that entrance fee has more benefits than drawbacks, particularly operation and development of the museums.

One key advantage with entrance fee is that museums have the financial resources for regular maintenance. Museums can use the accrued admissions for maintenance of collections, buildings and facilities, and hire professionals. Apart from that, museums can also tap into the financial resources to house more exhibitions and organise activities that visitors can participate. Take Chimei Museum in Taiwan for example, not only that it houses a wide range of collections from animals to weaponry and music instruments, but it provides guided tours, exhibits special painting collections and organises a musical event where visitors can enjoy.

While the admission fee is favourable to the museums, there are negative unintended consequences. The major concern is that the museums may fail to attract visitors, hence not only that they can no longer spread historical and education values, also lead to insufficient funds for further maintenance, which may again cause fewer visitors to come. A free museum may attract visitors subsequently promote cultural values, take the Dr Sun Yat-Sen Museum for instance, which is free of charge, and foreign or local visitor can learn the historical significance of this figure who was the founding father of Taiwan.

To summarise, it is evident that there are both pros and cons when an admission fee is charged. With the points discussed above, I am convinced that museums should collect admission fee for maintenance and development purposes.