The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To revitalise the city of Transopolis, the planning department recommended that residential areas opposite side of the industrial area, where population is declining, should be transformed into another industrial area. The arguments supporting the conclusion is unsubstantiated. The planning department should provide more evidence and the arguments should be evaluated.

First, there is no statistical evidence to support the decline of population in the residential area. The department did not provide any evidence showing the trend of the decline, percentage of the changes, and associated factors that drive people out of the residential area. There is a possibility that the decline is minimal and not statistical significant. On the other hand, the decline could be attributed to the presence of the industrial area opposite of the residential area. There is no information indicating what kind of industry is dominating the city of Transopolis. It could be that factories in the city has created a hazardous environmental conditions that make the neighbouring residential area unsuitable for living. Furthermore, it could plausible that the crime rate in the residential area has elevated, causing residents moving from the area.

Secondly, the argument that the 10-year-old urban renewal program, which converted the substandard housing to an industrial area, could be applied on the residential area is ill-supported. Although the author mentioned the advantages of such transformation, such as lower crime rates and higher property tax revenues, however, these are insufficient to conclude the the same transformation should be made. The department should cite the number of percentage changes for these two advantages, and also to provide more evidence that account more parameters. For example, degree of environmental degradation, health issues, and whether majority of the citizens of Transopolis reject or accept the idea. By accessing planning and reviewing the findings may help citizens and the department make a fair decision of such changes.

Thirdly, one of the argument supporting the idea of urban planning is that some houses and apartments in the existing nearby neighbourhood are available. This argument is unreasonable and insufficient to support the decision. It unclear whether the relocation is acceptable for most residents. The relocation may be costly and create a lot of inconveniences such as longer distance to schools and workplaces. It is also unclear what kind of housing are available and. They can be cheaper but in poor conditions. Also, there may not enough housing available to accommodate all residents in Transopolis. Apart from these information, the department should provide information about the available facilities in the neighbourhood.

To conclude, there are several flaws in the recommendation by the planning department of Transopolis city. The department should provide details about the decline of population in the residential area, suitability of the transformation and acceptance of the planning by the residents. This will help the planning department reassess whether their plan can help revitalise the city.