Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

One of the popular debates today is whether children should start learning a new language at primary or secondary education. I believe that learning a foreign language should start as early as primary school and argue that the positive outcomes out shadow the negative ones.

One of the main advantages is that children at the younger age tend to learn a new language easier than teenagers. This is because younger kids are natural language acquirers and they are self-motivated to pick up language without conscious learning, unlike teenagers. Studies have found that young children have greater brain plasticity that equips them with the ability to imitate pronunciation and figure out rules of a language for themselves. If foreign language lesson begins at secondary education, most students may struggle to master a language as they may have lost the enthusiasm. This is usually the case when the language lessons are delivered through an academic setting using textbooks.

Furthermore, primary school normally have a more flexible schedule and the subjects are also simpler than those at the secondary school. This allows more time to fit in language lessons through play-based approaches, such as singing, watching movies, lots of interactive activities that will help children engaged in the learning process. For secondary education, the subjects are more advanced and normally there is little time for such language classes, hence the starting a new language at that stage may not be suitable.

One of the drawbacks of implementing the policy in primary education is that there is lack of the specialist language teachers as most teachers in the primary school are generalists, therefore the outcome may be as effective. In addition, if the teaching of the foreign language at primary education is not well-planned or standardised, it will be difficult to track the learning progress and the language foundation may not be well-established. This will further affect learning process of the children when they move on to secondary school.

In conclusion, with points discussed above, I am convinced that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.