Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is considered by some people that high school students should participate in unpaid community services as a required part of high school programmes. Many high schools are already offering students the opportunity to participate in voluntary works, however, these are not compulsory. In my opinion, making voluntary work as part of the high school curricula is a great idea as students can learn many valuable skills.

The spirit of taking up social responsibility can be cultivated by doing voluntary work. When teenagers participate in an environmental or social NGO, they will be exposed to various activities such as recycling house wastes, helping the disabled, poor and elderly, or tutoring younger children. These experiences may help them to recognize and understand the contemporary issues and actions they can take to alleviate the problems, for example, air and river pollution, patients or children from low-income families who cannot afford medical treatment or tuition fees respectively. When their spare time is occupied by these activities, they will no longer waste their time watching television programmes or doing dangerous acts.

Not only that these activities encourage students to take responsibilities, but they will also learn various soft skills, for examples, communication, organisational skills and teamwork. These are valuable skills will improve their resume and make them more employable. They will also learn to respect work as they will understand that money is hard-earned.

Nonetheless, others may concern about the requirement of participating in community services. Some worry that high school schedules may be less flexible compared to that of primary school and university. With many subjects to study for exams and homework to do, plus private tuitions, it may be difficult to squeeze in a few hours for community services, and they may also increase stress levels among students.

In conclusion, with both pros and cons discussed, I think sending high school students to community services is a very good idea.