The following is taken from a memos from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers, thus the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Based on a report from the marketing department, the Super Screen Movie company advertising director has recommended increasing the budget of advertising next year in order to increase movie attendance. While this may achieve the increased attendance desired, that conclusion is not supported by the evidence given here. There are significant questions around availability and awareness, content, the industry as a whole, and the biases of the recommender that need to be addressed first.

For example, while overall attendance of the studio's movies may be down, it's not clear if the studio produced and released the same number of films as it had in previous years or if the films were shown in the same number of theaters with the same number of show times. The dip in attendance could be attributed to the availability of the movies, rather than awareness or interest. It would also be helpful to do additional research to determine if in actuality the potential audience had heard of the movies and the positive reviews or not.

It's also not clear if the movies released in the past year were similar in content or target audience as previous years. It's possible that preceeding films were "blockbuster" action films with an appeal to the widest possible audience, while the previous year focused on elite directors and niche audiences that would, of course, result in a smaller turnout.

In addition, its important to look at the industry as whole in order to get a full picture of how the movies performed. The studio needs to evaluate whether overall movie attendance was up or down the previous year, by what percentage, and determine whether their movies performed above or below that baseline. It's actually possible this studio's attendance number are better than the industry. The studio also needs to determine the competitive landscape: were there blockbusters released by other studios that simply pulled all available viewers?

And finally, the fact that the recommendation to increase the percentage of budget going to advertising versus other cost centers is being put forward by the advertising director needs to be evaluated. It's important to know if other departments agree that advertising should be increased and are willing to offer up part of their budgets to do so.

While allocating a greater portion of the studio's budget to advertising could potentially increase attendance, it's not justified by the information given here. There are too many other potential reasons viewership could have been down that need to be evaluated and eliminated before determining what action to be taken, or if any action needs to be taken at all.