The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Human society is founded on our ability to cooperate with one another. While competition may drive us to achieve, shared goals and working in sync are what have allowed us to create our greatest achievements, such as getting to the moon, creating the Internet, and minimizing the effects of life threatening diseases. In order to be successful, young people must be able to work together.

One example of such as success is the United States' trip to the moon in the 1960s. It took the brains of countless scientists, mathemeticians, and engineers working together to overcome daily challenges and envision new solutions that would allow us to do something never done before - leaving the earth's atmosphere, visiting another part of our solar system, and returning safely to Earth. This achievement still inspires young people today to reach for space. While the "space race" between the US and the Soviet Union was a key driver and motivation, the competitive push alone would not have been sufficient for NASA to reach this goal.

Another example of the benefits of cooperation is the world-changing Internet. Started as a cooperative government program which allowed universities to connect digitally to share ideas and research, its global reach could not have been achieved without the agreed upon standards for presenting information. The non-commercial hypertext language allows for anyone to create a website that can be viewed by any web browser around the world. Because none of the technology is proprietary, it opens the door to millions of creaters and viewers, leading to extraordinary growth. While one could argue that Microsoft saw success with its Explorer browser which for a time pushed competitors out of the market with its stranglehold on PC computers, it didn't stop other innovators from creating their own offerings, some of which were group-sourced and widely adopted.

Finally, the world has been very successful over the last few decades in almost eliminating common and potentially life threatening diseases such as the measles and polio. This has been achieved through the cooperation of millions in getting vaccinated. "Herd immunity" achieved when the majority of a community is immunized makes it difficult for the disease to get a foothold.

While competition may be an instigator and driver of individuals, the wonders of our modern age have all come to fruition through the cooperation of those same individuals.