Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Railways and roads have played important roles in enabling progress throughout human history. Even today, the effects of these infrastructures are very powerful, as they have direct influence on the quality of life. I believe focusing on railway construction makes the most sense.

Although i believe governments should build railways, there are also a great many benefits of roads. Firstly, in the case of railways, only subways or trains can use that roads. However, roads can be used by variety of vehicles: cars, trucks, motorcycles and bicycles. Secondly, building new roads often means that new amenities will be built nearby. Since governments should build new facilities like hospitals. libraries and courts on the places which are usually low price and empty for the reasonable consumption of budget and new roads enable it.

But I find there are more pros to have more railways. Nowadays we are getting losing our resources. I believe using trains and subways can be the answer to this problem by transferring a lot more people or supplies at once than cars. It uses less energy to transport materials and merchandise by rail. If alongside this, governments can reduce the volume of traffic in big cities by subways, problems like air pollution caused by car exhaust, fumes, traffic noise, accidents and so on that deteriorate the life satisfaction will be reduced.

Finally, to sum up, when building railways and loads, many things need to be taken into consideration first. But I insist that governments should have to consider environmental aspect the most since there are many possibilities that they have to spend astronomical amount of money on recovering the environment. So if I take all these factors into account, having railways can be more helpful for diverse aspects of society.