Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The opinion is divided as to whether governments should spend more budget on the railway system rather than the road system or not. In my opinion, I agree with the statement due to many issues like global warming and traffic problem came from using a car mostly.

Based on statistics and researches, around 80% of greenhouse gas is released by car, and the number of personal cars in 2019 increases significantly from 10 years ago. Nowadays, our world is confronting hot temperatures in many places that were colder before, for example, ice glaciers are now melting due to a higher temperature in the North Pole. This is the problem that we need to fix it as soon as possible which one possible solution is reducing the number of cars. Most people think of personal car is the most flexible and comfortable way of moving from place to place because they are now lacking appropriate railway systems like a subway or sky train.

Therefore, it is the time the government should support the idea of railways more than ever. Firstly, Japan is the best model for this, having over 100 million of populations but excellent traffic conditions even in a capital city like Tokyo that because there are fantastic subways that connect everywhere within the city and between the city. So, the demand for using car reduces significantly, and it is followed by lower air pollution. To do that, governments have to obstruct people from using a car as much as they can by increasing tax or gas, developing railways at the same time. We all know, changes cannot happen suddenly, it only has to do gradually but right now we need some sign of revolution.

In conclusion, using a car is made a lot of global issues but it is the most common transportation by this century. One of the best solutions is to reduce car usage and develop other transportation instead.