Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree and disagree.

I totally disagree with the statement that governmental bodies should spend funds on railroads instead of roadways as it stands to be the waste of time as well as great amount of money.

Firstly, to construct the railway tracks it consumes a long time and in the given time frame large portion of a nation can complete constructing roadways. Even to build a single track it can occupy around 10 to 12 days, and to complete the full track it takes 7-8 years, while roadways can take up to two to three years to complete. For instance, as per the project named railway construction carried out by world bank, it will take almost ten years to construct 250 km long track, while in the nearby locality project by the same group took around five years to complete road construction of similar length.

Secondly, roadways are much more flexible and it has greater facility than compared to railways. Although railways are luxurious, given the expenses of travelling, roadways can have a great deal of comfort zone as with minimum expenses. Moreover, railways do require extra materials and huge manpower to construct and it is not possible to construct in every region without proper analysis. For example, in countries like Nepal with the tall Himalayas and high hills, the geographical placement will make it far more complicated to construct railway tracks which makes it too expensive.

To conclude, expenses in the railway is a waste or time and money and I do not think that spending money on the railway is superb than constructing roadways.