Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

There is an argument that authorities ought to invest more on rail-line systems than highways. In my opinion, allocating more resources on railway networks are more significant for their environmentally-friendly aspect and convenience.

Focusing financially more on railways as opposed to roads is important because nature rejuvenates in this way. Since trains of twenty first century operate on electricity produced through solar panels or nuclear stations, environment tends to become fresher. While the opposite is true with vehicles, they emit toxic gases causing air pollution, resulting in global warming as well. For example, The Scientist magazine informs that the level of global warming and air pollution has decreased by half owing to electric railway systems. Thus, investing federal money on a rail line network has more importance than highways.

Allocating more resources from state budget to rail-lines is likely to be more efficient due to its convenience in costs. In other words, trains can include thousands of people without taking much energy compared to other means of transport such as busses which must refill their tanks more in order to do the same as a train. This means that the tickets are more likely to be cheaper than those of busses. For instance, In Japan most people use trains instead of private cars or busses thanks to affordability they offer. Therefore, countries should fund railways rather than roads which are commonly believed to be a bit expensive.

In conclusion, not only does more investment of government on railways improve the quality of environment, but it also provides more affordable commuting fees to public.