Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

National facilities developments have been a common topic of debate for decades. As technological enhancement, people all around the world are becoming more aware of transportation. This raises the question if national authorities should invest in improvements of railways instead of roads. In my perspective, I totally agree with this view.

The reason for this is travelling by train is likely to be well adapted to a wide range of personal expenses on transportation. For example, in Japan or the US, according to the result of experiments based on satisfaction of customers on the railway system, more than 70% of candidates claim that the reason why they enjoy subways is the affordable price. Furthermore, as technology develops, trains are reported to be one of the most environmentally friendly means of transport. This is primarily because trains are mostly powered by electricity or nuclear power which do not release any little amount of CO2 into the atmosphere. In addition, commuting by subways can contribute to the reduction of traffic congestion in many metropolises.

If national authorities invest in road systems rather than railways, the consequences may be catastrophic. While railways systems are mostly built underground, the majority of roads require large areas on the surface to be constructed. As a result, forests and jungles which absorb CO2 in the air will be gradually felled to accommodate new roads that can worsen the air pollution issues. Moreover, vehicles traveling on roads release extremely high noise and CO2 which negatively affect citizens' lives. Consequently, more government revenue based on taxes is spent to solve these problematic situations, therefore, are likely to reverse the developing trend of a country.

To put things in a nutshell, I am totally of the statement illustrating that railways should be prefered to be invested in stead of roads due to its advantages at both economic and environmental aspects.