Governments spend millions of dollars each year in their space programmes. Most recently, Mars is the focus of scientists’ attention. Some people think this money would be better spent on dealing with problems closer to home.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, numerous amount of money has invested in space explorations during the last century. This issue always has been one of the controversial issue weather we should do scientific research in this content or not. Well, it seems that people have different attitude toward this matter. This essay intends discuss about it as follows.

Firstly, about 50 years ago there was a competition between the US and the URSS in term of launching spacecraft to the space to conquer the moon. While a vast amount of budget gave to the space agency of these countries, it could be put into other sectors like education, culture, health, and agriculture. Fortunately, this rival has been less significantly when the other lands involved in this issue by establishing the relevant organizations including the EU which has played a significant role in astonishing findings.

Besides, the critics constantly argue that when a flood of people particularly in African lands suffer from some natural disasters like drought and the food supplies are running out it is not the right approach to insist on investigation about other planets. Still, the rate of illiteracy is relatively high and some global organizations can provide a platform to resolve this problem. The WHO and the FAO can perform rewarding attempts in poor countries when the wealthy governments donate millions of dollars like expanding the innovative techniques of seeding the corps into the soil.

In conclusion, in my opinion we need to balance between the money spent to space researches and whatever related the humans which improves the quality of their life at the moment. That is exactly the only way both side will be satisfied.