A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people
and that they should have the same rights as humans while others argue that
humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, includes uses for food
and research.
Discuss both the views and give your opinion.
There have been ongoing debates whether human being should use animals for their
needs or not. There are spit opinions regarding this. Some believe that it is immoral and they
should be treated as equals; however, a few others claim that animals can be used for any
purpose. Therefore, before arriving on a decision, both views should be examined.
Discussing the first view, the foremost arguments the animal lovers put forward is
that the animals are as important as humans in nature. Though they are not superior to
humans, they form a vital clue in the food chain. So, they should neither be used nor be
disturbed. Besides this, to exploit animals in any manner is immoral unethical. Experts to
animal rights say that all the members in the living kingdom have equal rights to survive.
On the flip side, the supporters of the latter view favours exploitation of animals for
their needs and purposes. The most valid reason they give is that humans being the most
superior animals in nature, they get an unsaid right to use the lower animals. Apart from this,
it has been proved since ages that the relationship between the two is quite mutual. Rather
than harming, man has tactfully used animals for different purpose based on the animal’s
physical ability or its unique skill. To illustrate, dogs are used by the police for their sense of
smell, horses to travel, donkeys as least of burden and many more examples.
To conclude and give my opinion, I would certainly vote for the second opinion. The
reason is that although man exploits animals for his need, the relationship has not disturbed
the nature to a serious extent. However, care should be taken that this confidence should not
ignore the harm that can seriously decrease their numbers or damage them in any manner.