Health In the developed world average life expectancy is increasing What problems will this cause for individuals and society Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

In the today modern world, by considering to spreading knowledge, adopting a healthier lifestyle and mechanization of works, the average of people lifespan are increased, as it can cause serious problems for individuals and society. This essay will discuss the two main problems related to increasing average life expectancy, including an increase in the number of retired people who will receive a pension and economic problems that come with it and the additional demand for elderly healthcare. This essay will also put forward some solutions to cope with these problems, namely increasing the retirement age, and applying to medical advance and health programmes.

Despite the increase in average life expectancy and longer lifespan, the age of retirement has not altered, and people retired while they would be able to work as an active workforce. Therefore, the large number of the population would be deserved to receive the pension who are not productive, so this matter can impact on the GDP index and causes significant detriment in economic sectors. Furthermore, the process of rising age leads to disorder in the organs of the body, and the probability of disease enhances hence, demand for medical care escalates. For instance, the statistics show that 85 per cent of people who above 70 years old are suffering from disease like Alzheimer, pressure blood, Heart disorders so need to healthcare. As can be seen, a growing average of age-rate causes many vital problems, even for developed countries.

Several actions can be taken by the state to mitigate these destructive effects. Firstly, the primary solution can be increasing the average retirement age that results in enhancing the productive workforce. Secondly, investing and developing healthcare system improve the general state of community health so young adults become needless to look after elderly relatives. These solutions illustrate how governments can alleviate the influence of the main issue on the economy and healthcare system.

In conclusion, although rising in average life expectancy causes fundamental problems, there are some solutions to soothe these effects. This essay discussed how this issue brings some problems and also proposed some solutions to struggle with those.