The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of the advertising but not the real need of the whole society in which they sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

These days, it is claimed the development of advertisement can be presented by the increase in the sale of widespread commodity goods, rather than the demand of the community where they sell. While it can not be denied that advertising has significant impacts on the number of goods sales, I do not agree with this idea because of two main reasons.

On the one hand, nowadays advertising has become a multi-billion industry and consumer's expenditure are remarkably affected by this field. In fact, many commercials drive customer's desire to buy unnecessary products. In particular, attractive advertising campaigns and effects cause people to make impulsive purchases, which they might have not made if they had considered more carefully. Furthermore, when a product is promoted successfully and favoured by a large number of people, thanks to advertisements, other individuals could be also affected to follow the trend. In particular, children who are the most susceptible object would pester their parents to buy for them the trendy items which their peers have possessed.

On the other hand, I am convinced that people's demand is the most vital factor leading to the high sales of consumer goods in these societies. First, in today's market, there is a large percentage of experienced customers who are able to make a thorough decision when shopping. In the era of technology and information, it seems that customers are likely to spend money based on their buying habits, instead of the appealing content and effects of advertising. Another element that affects the amount of goods sales is individuals' budget. It is obvious that expenditure on goods depends on customers' monthly income, which means that without abundant financial stage, it is impossible for people to pay for their basic necessities and other personal requirements.

In conclusion, owing to the arguments above, I believe that despite the rapid growth of the advertising industry, people'choice is the most fundamental factor in high sales of commodity goods.