High sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.

It is argued by some that the voracious appetite of societies for consumer goods is but an elusive urge created by the mesmerizing quality of advertisement. There is, in my view, strong evidence to prove the veracity of such an opinion.

Firstly, the influence of ballyhoos on the collective subconscious mind cannot be denied. Once human mind is suggested with peripheral perception simultaneously doing activities, the information is printed adhesively on the subconscious, and it ultimately appears on the surface as an illusion of freedom of choice. By way of illustration, while watching a favorite sitcom on TV, the product appeared on the screen is capable of being associated with the joyance and laughter of a certain hilarious scene.

Secondly, some popular products are of no doubt harmful to the consumers' health. Despite having been proven to be extremely perilous, certain consumer goods are sold on massive scales. Taking cigarettes as an example, while a smoke addict is, to some extent, aware of the potential harm, he keeps indulging since ads suggest it as a way of pleasure.

Finally, advertisers manipulate human psychological complexes and inferiority complex on the top. Being born with an inherent feeling of inferiority and position anxiety, human beings seek a set of goods and behaviors as symbols of their belongings to a higher class. And that is the fertile soil into which advertisers implant the seeds of their inception by introducing a product as a sign of prosperity and superiority.

In conclusion, I am absolutely convinced that the sheer scale of consumer goods sales indicates the success of advertising companies as puppet masters of minds.