Today, high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the high popularity on some consumer goods derive from the wide-range advertising spreading, which cannot reflect the real and necessary demand for the goods, that means customers has been misguided by the advertisement. In my opinion, the advertisements might be

able to make them make some irrational purchasing decisions.

There are two main reasons why consumers might make some irrational decision due to the influence on the advertisements. First, some well-designed advertising is capable to attract consumers’ attention. Apparently, advertising is one of the major ways to know and understand the latest technology. Thus, the information, which is going to reveal the unique comparative advantages, must be designed in order to attract people. For example, consumers can buy the cellphone, which is known by them clearly from advertising, if the producers advertise their produce wide-range. Thus, advertising indeed stimulates the improvement of the sales volume.

In addition, some consumers might purchase some goods whose brands are endorsed by some stars who they admire. Because they are willing to buy some products as the souvenirs about the stars although the goods are not necessary for their life. For example, consumers who are Jordan’s hardcore might buy Air Jordan shoes, which even is not suitable for their feet.

In spite of this, such sales volume still ought to reflect the real situation about the demanding on the goods. Because it is the most significant consideration, before making decisions, whether they are able to afford the goods. Thus, advertising is a secondary aspect to influence their decision-making.

In conclusion, adverting indeed attract more consumers to buy some goods, whereas the price and themselves economic status are more important before they say “ I will take it”.