Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the economic development has been considered as the main goal for government in some countries, while some people claim that the authorities do not ought to do so because there are more significant fields, which need to be focused by governments. In my opinion, they should concentrate on the economy although the development of multi-fields in countries is remarkable vital.

On the one hand, economic development has more priority than any other fields. Because all of the other development derive from economic development. To some extent, money means everything for people. While a better economic situation leads to a better living standard, which is meaning people have more disposable income. Thus, citizens demand might be satisfied, and even obtain high satisfaction to the local government as well as the country.

In addition, the benefits of such development might induce that a verity of issues, which is associated with many aspects in society, might be solved or eased. For example, apparently, unemployment indeed is eased, since more job vacancies or opportunities might be created during the economic boom. Thus, better economic development might be the main key to some serious social problems.

In spite of this, the drawback of such government strategy is that unequal development of a society. Because, compared with other countries which contain similar importance on the diverse fields, such countries leak the development potential. Thus, the importance of synchronous development in other fields should not be ignored.

In conclusion, the economic development indeed is the core goal for governments, because of a bunch of benefits brought by it, whereas the downside of it only exists clearly. In my view, the duty of government is to assess the significance of each aspect and field, while to adjust their investment in different fields.