IELTS 6 Test 3 Writing Task 2 - Academic

Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With the development of transportation tools, such as planes, high-speed trains, etc. people find it more convenient and faster to travel than before. However, it also leads to dispute that whether they should follow local customs and behavior, or the host country should see their differences and accept it. I would elaborate both sides and provide my opinion afterwards.

As the saying goes, when in Rome, do as the Romans do. Shall visitors want to experience a local tradition and culture, it is better to follow the local custom, talk to the local folks, and observe their reaction to certain situation, which might be very different from their own countries’. This also apply to expatriates who want to find job or run their business in the host country. The more they understand and pay respect to the local culture, the easier for them to adapt their lives to that country.

However, the host country shall also see the differences between their traditional custom or behavior and the foreigners’’. For one thing, understanding on diverse culture will improve our knowledge towards outside world, which open up our mind to identify our own disadvantage. For another, the attitude we hold against foreign visitors will build the reputation of the host country in the world, so when one day the host country’s citizens visit other countries, their local people will also use the same attitude to us.

Personally speaking, I agree we shall follow local tradition and behavior when visiting other countries, as reflection on our manners. Admittedly, the host countries can take this chance to study the foreign differences against its own culture, we as visitor should always behave good manner so as not to bring shame to our own motherland.