Imagine scientists have invented a new medicine. If you drink it, you will be able to speak every language in the world. There is just one problem. You will never be able to speak your own language again.

Would you drink the medicine? Write about your decision.

As a lover of languages and the craft of language learning, I have always dreamt of conquering all languages. Yet, were I to be offered a potion that will make me proficient in all the world's languages, yet will strip me of the ability to utter a word in my mother tongue ever again, I will politely and defiantly refuse. With the following composition, I am going to discuss two reasons for my stance.

Firstly, being proficient at all languages of the world just by taking a medicine will take away my appreciation for languages and language learning. Never again will I appreciate the differences and the challenges new foreign languages pose to me. Whether it be the case system of Russian or German, conjugations of French or Italian, or the hieroglyphs of Egyptian and Chinese, the euphoria of conquering these seemingly insurmountable challenges will never come to me again.

Simultaneously, losing the right to speak my native tongue is depriving me from a very core part of my identity. Being Vietnamese, and a speaker of the sweet musical language embedded with my nation, fills me with joy and pride. Not being able to communicate with the people who share my own land will be saddening to me, as there will now be a wall between me and the people whom I have so much love to give. Moreover, I can no longer appreciate the musicality and the velvety texture of the songs, poems and other literary works in my language. As such, I will lose a crucial and defining part of my sense of identity.

In conclusion, I will not drink any medicine that gives me the ability to speak all languages of the world, bar my mother tongue, for such a potion will come at the price of me losing my joy in language learning, and my sense of national and cultural identity.