The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rise in population in many parts of the world has catalyzed higher levels of traffic. In response to this trend, some claim that only by cutting down on the need for commuting to work, school or shopping can traffic be reduced. However, I must disagree with this rather militant point of view. With the following composition, I will elaborate upon two reasons supporting my point of view.

First of all, reducing the need for people to travel from home to carry out their daily essential activities may not lead to a decrease in traffic at all. To elaborate, today, people have to resort to either their own vehicles, carpooling or public transport to get to their school, their workplace, or their favored grocery stores. While it is possible to receive education or complete work without any usage of cars and similar vehicles, it is impossible for the deliver of groceries and other goods not to use any vehicles. Moreover, should people shift from going to brick-and-mortar stores to having their groceries shipped to their front doors, vendors and grocers must use even more cars, bikes and trucks to get those delivered. Generating even higher levels of traffic, this can put more stress upon the traffic infrastructure system.

Secondly, cutting on the need for people to leave their homes for school, work or shopping is far from the only practical solution to the traffic question. In fact, improving and promoting the local public transportation system is a more practical and economical solution. Bus, tram and train systems – the successful renovation of these public transport components can allow for more riders, and people are more incentivized to take advantage of these systems. Therefore, less stress will be put on the road system, and traffic will be clearer.

In conclusion, limiting the need to depart home to carry out work, education or essential purchases is not the only solution to the pressing problem of crowded traffic. this is because such a scheme is far from being the ideal solution, and it may even prove counter-productive.