The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rise in population in many parts of the world has catalyzed higher levels of traffic. In response to this trend, some claim that only by cutting down on the need for commuting to work, school or shopping can traffic be reduced. However, I must disagree with this rather militant point of view. With the following composition, I will elaborate upon two reasons supporting my point of view.

First of all, reducing the need for people to travel from home to carry out their daily essential activities may not lead to a decrease in traffic at all. While it is possible to receive education or complete work without any usage of cars and similar vehicles, it is impossible to deliver groceries and other goods without any use of vehicles. Moreover, should people shift from going to brick-and-mortar stores to having their groceries shipped to their front doors, vendors and grocers must use even more cars, bikes and trucks to get those groceries delivered. Generating even higher levels of traffic, this can put more stress upon the traffic infrastructure system.

Secondly, cutting on the requirement for people to leave their homes for school, work or shopping is far from the only practical solution to the traffic question. A more practical and economical solution is the improvement and promotion of the local public transportation system. Bus, tram and train systems, when successfully renovated, can allow for more riders; therefore, people are more incentivised to take advantage of these systems, which will lead to a noticeable reduction in traffic.

In conclusion, cutting down on the need to depart home to carry out work, education or essential purchases is not the only solution to the pressing problem of crowded traffic. This is because such a scheme is far from being the optimal solution, and it may even prove to be counter-productive.