The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the modern age, the growing demand for large amounts of purchased goods leads to mass production of commodities, which is the main factor of environmental degradation. The reasons for this are discussed as below.

On one hand, factories dispose of industrial waste irresponsibly. As mass production develops, factories are producing an increasing amount of toxic waste, which are discharged into land and rivers. This means that the land and water are spoiled by chemicals seriously and results in environmental contamination. On the other hand, the emission of carbon footprints is inevitable during the production process. The gas emission from factories is disposed into air. It contains carbon dioxide and methane, which cause the global warming and loss of biodiversity. Many species are now in danger due to climate change. For example, the polar bears in the north and deep south are subject to living room narrowing because the glaciers are melting at an alarming pace.

Measures should be urgently taken to combat this situation. First, government should not be afraid to introduce green taxes on industries. This will effectively regulate the discharge of chemical waste in the production and reduce the carbon emission. Second, individuals should take actions as well. We can offset the carbon prints by flying less and reduce the food miles by buying the local products. All these are efficient ways to help alleviate the environmental problems.

In conclusion, irresponsible disposal of industrial waste and emission of carbon footprints are the major elements causing environmental damage and government as well as the public should cooperate to contribute to environmental protection.