An increase in production of consumer goods results in damage of the natural environment. What are the causes and possible solutions?

Today we are living in an era of continuously increasing demand. The rate of consumption is stand at higher red alert level. Consumers mentality of buying goods lead to high production it which directly effect on the natural environment. There are several reasons of such kind of situation and some primitive steps should be taken to overcome this issue. Both the causes and remedies are discussed further.

Discussing the reasons of the high production rate of commodities, many examples can be put forward. The foremost one is that escalation in statistic of population. What I mean, high people strength is main reason of high demands. Every mankind wants to use different type of goods to improve their life quality. They have different wishes to buy and use. Moreover, improving buying capacity also plays an important role in this. Explaining it, since last two decades constantly improvement have been seen in ability of shopping because of developing economics. That’s why people are more interested to buy variety and various things. Furthermore, the manufacturing industries are producing cheaper consumer goods by compromising quality. Mostly, they have to discarded after some time of use. The most serious effect of this phenomenon is on the environment. Our landfill sites are filling up with non bio-degradable wastes. It is leading to pollution. Destroying used plastic is also a major problem.

The solution are not so easy. Firstly, people have to be aware of the harmful consequences. People should buy only what is necessary. Secondly, as far as possible bio-degradable materials should be used as row materials and excessive packing should be avoided. Thirdly, people should start to use paper bags instead of plastic one. What next, Industries should try alternative sources of energy during production.

To conclude, I pen down saying that, consumerism is rampant nowadays and it is having detrimental effect on our environment but some fruitful steps can be taken to minimize the bad effects of excessive consumerism.