An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to our natural environment. What are the causes and solutions?

In this day and age, the production for the final goods of citizens has risen to meet the demand of citizens. Such phenomenon has created various adverse impacts on the natural environment. This essay shall discuss both causes and solutions of this issue.

The modern era has witnessed rapid changes in the speed of industrialization and globalization. Many countries are to develop at a faster pace, which boosts the population growth in big cities. As a consequence, loads of migrants move to those cities with the hope for better job opportunities. These new city dwellers will generate demands for food, water, accommodation, and other fundamental needs that will be quickly satisfied by the manufacturers. Huge final goods consumed each day will release a certain amount of trash to the surrounding areas, hence damaging the natural environment. Especially, most of the garbage is made of plastic or nylon materials which take hundreds of years to be decomposed, and they can penetrate easily into the food chain of wild animals, resulting in the decline in life expectancy of the wildlife.

Therefore, it is essential that the government should take action to guard against this problem. First, governments should raise awareness of people about damages that massive production of consumer good can cause through the educational system, along with the media. Second, it is necessary to levy higher taxes on the companies discharging furtively their wastes and invest in the programmes developing recycling systems. Finally, some auxiliary products should be banned such as plastic drinking straws and nylon bags.

In conclusion, producing a great number of final goods could harm the natural environment. However, this problem can be alleviated by the intervention of the governments.