With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.To what extent do you agree?

Fossil fuel consumption is increasing globally. Therefore, some people feel that excavation of fuel should be permitted in unexplored areas. I don’t support this. In my opinion, our world can’t handle any more pollution and diseases. So, searching for other cleaner sources of power is more vital and crucial.

A good reason protect unexplored lands is that the current oil and gas usage increases global warming. In other words, global temperatures are rising gradually due to the excessive use of fossil fuel. As a result, mankind faces the threat of extinction. Moreover, if we do not stop the exploitation of our natural resources, the green areas that form the lungs of our earth will shrink even further. This will also affect our health. In addition to that, diseases will spread more quickly and affect more people because of the emission of poisonous gases and other contaminants from factories. Another point to consider is that undiscovered land should be protected from industrial activities.

As we can see, excessive dependence on fossil fuels is causing serious damage to our planet. Developing green power technologies is the only solution to this problem. These technologies can also decrease the negative effects of contaminated vapors and gases produced by the overuse of fossil fuel. For instance, in Germany almost all car factories run on green power. Such technologies maintain better environmental conditions and in the long term they will also prove to be cheaper than conventional sources. This, in turn, will reduce the cost of manufacturing and make goods and products cheaper and more affordable.

In conclusion, fossil fuels are useful; however, they also have negative impacts on the environment. Therefore, I am convinced that instead of exploring undiscovered lands for more oil and gas, we should invest in green power technologies.