An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Printed items are getting substituted by electronic devices in many schools. The advantage of it is that information is readily available online, but the drawback is that electronic devices could harm the eyes of the students.

As technology is becoming more advanced these days, information can be found easily for the students especially on the Internet. Nowadays, the Internet is considered to be a free digital library with in-depth knowledge can be obtained by not only students but also teachers. This helps them to be able to keep up with the latest use of technology in their educational journey, rather than carrying heavy books to class or borrowing a pile of textbooks from the school library. For instance, if a student does not understand quantum mechanics in class, he could use Google to search for videos on that topic for further explanations and insights. Aside from that, teachers can find new materials online for improving their teaching skills.

On the other hand, using electronic equipment in class which could affect eye health is the possible downside, when it is spent too much time on the screen. This occurrence not only happens in school but also at workplace or at home. According to reports, the average time that children spend on electronic usages such as tablet and smartphone is around 4 hours per day. The result of getting an eye problem could be poor eyesight, itchy eyes, and blurry eyes.

To conclude, the use of technology at educational institutions are increasing as this benefits both students and teachers with any information that can be found online, but too much time on it could bring harm to their sights.