In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society, but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Architecture usually enhances the beauty of a city or a country in many premises, and yet, many of them are being modernised to the extent that they are losing distinctive features structurally and artistically. Such occurrence happens due to urban development and it should be seen as a worrisome thought because buildings are starting to lose a sense of identity nowadays.

Cities are getting urbanised for a better development for the country and for improved quality of life. Major cities such as Singapore, London and New York City, would either expand its area by introducing new housing precincts or upgrade their landscape by improving their infrastructure and utilities. Smaller cities may not be able to compete with these mature metropolis, but the city government thrive to increase the number of construction projects such as houses, bridges, and road, in order to raise its economic performance. For instance, the city of Miri in east Malaysia is expanding well for the past few years with new residential areas, new shopping complexes and renovated roads, showing great progress in modernising it into a vibrant municipality.

However, the more structures becoming modern, the more they become hard to differentiate that it the city or the society has started to lose its identity and uniqueness as the number of modern premises has become greatly dense. Although there are many old, stylish architectural structures that remain iconic and untouched like the Westminster Palace and Big Ben in the heart of London, filthy abandoned buildings are commonly demolished and replaced with newer construction such as shopping malls without leaving any cultural sentiment from the fast-changing modern society. For example, the size of the famous water village in Bandar Seri Begawan was reduced recently due to the fact that a portion of the village was substituted into a recreational park at the river bank for leisure activities, causing many residents of that area to displace to new homes, and hence Brunei felt a slight loss in its cultural identity.

To conclude, many urban infrastructures are being built in cities for the sake of boosting their economy and upgrading people’s lives, but on the other hand, a lack of distinguishable and meaningful buildings can result negatively in a loss of architectural and cultural identities.