Nowadays more and more people read news on the Internet. Nevertheless, newspapers will remain an important source of news and information for the majority of people.Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many readers look for news online today, but there are a large number of people who prefer to read newspapers for significant news reports and details. This essay disagrees that people largely read the printed publication because most of the news is readily available on the Internet and access to online news are free of charge nowadays.

There are numerous news articles already available online. Major news outlets such as the New York Times, the Guardian, and the Daily Mail have their own websites for readers to access to latest news updates in which conventional newspapers usually do not include. Any news coverage unfolds during an event, the media would report on their website live. For instance, a Singaporean news outlet called the Strait Times, covered the entire event of the North Korea-United States summit in the city of Singapore, providing quick and informative updates on the day of the summit online and later publishing headlines and an overview of the summit on its printed papers the following day. Readers who wanted to keep up with the latest coverage can easily read through the reports on their palms to save time to flip through pages after pages.

Nowadays, online news articles are mostly free of charge. People do not have to pay to read news and obtain information as technology has become more advanced these days. Also, not buying newspapers could help to reduce the number of trees being cut down. As for news subscription, online subscribers can enjoy reading premium contents on their electronic devices compared to those who prefer to enjoy the printed stack, as this not only saves money and woods but also time. To exemplify, the Guardian’s website contains various sections such as national news, global news, entertainment news, and opinions, for free and none of its articles are required to be paid.

In conclusion, there is an increasing number of news readers who prefer to surf on the Internet to read the news because of the huge number of articles and reports being published online and they can have unpaid access to obtain information easily, and hence saving money, trees and time.