Some people argue that individual can do nothing to improve the environment. Therefore, only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Many think that people are not taking effective action in tackling environmental issues but the higher authorities and corporates are able to do so. In my opinion, I disagree with the idea. The administration could amend and control the law while the corporates make business for profit, but it is everyone as a society who should play his part in bettering the world.

People in higher authority or position are usually those who exercise their power to amend any laws in order to suit civilians’ needs. In this case, the government bodies have the rights and power to control those who have caused harm to the environment. Politicians, for example, would propose a bill related to the environment after hearing the struggles faced by the citizens. One prime example would be the case of the impurity of freshwater in Flint, Michigan. As for the corporates, not all of them are willing to obey the law, and yet, they have the ability or resources to find loopholes in the regulations, bringing damages to the environment. These companies are eager to make profits in a subtle manner without being transparent to the public including the government and hence, this questions their business ethics and eventually could lose trust from the stakeholders.

On the other hand, every person, either as a part of a community or as an individual, plays a significant role in taking care of the environment. Although the environment has been vulnerable due to the anthropogenic activity over the last centuries, each person has to reflect on what has happened to his or her surroundings before taking action to make a difference. This can be in the form of activism by protesting against certain activities such as throwing plastics into the landfill or campaigning by educating people to practice a low-waste lifestyle as an instance.

To conclude, the higher authorities’ job is to demand changes and control the environmental regulations while some companies are bringing damages for the sake of earning profits, causing a loss of trust among the people, but every person should carry his or her responsibility to protect the environment.