Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Studying abroad has become increasingly common in the last few years, especially for young people from countries such as China and India. Many students and their families clearly consider experience worth the sacrifices involved. The former often give up friendship when they move abroad; the latter often use their life savings. Moreover, many governments are willing to invest huge sums of money in sponsoring their young people to study in universities overseas. However, this trend has drawbacks as well as benefits for those concerned.

One potential drawback is the culture shock which occurs to any students. Because of differences in culture, education, peoples, it leads to physical and mental decline. For example, a student coming from a developing country who is accustomed to the climate, language, culture he/she used to live, will easily get distressed when he/she goes to a developed country. Hence, getting bad results in studying, feeling unmotivated and being homesick are understandable.

Another disadvantage of studying abroad is the standout of brain drain, especially in developing countries. Since these nations do not have as many conditions to enlarge some fields such as: astronomy, computer science, chemistry as developed ones, students often tend to stay in the host country in order to both complete their studies and earn their livings.

Nevertheless, once students find ways of returning home after completing their studies, they will know how to generate wealth for the hometown by adapting what they have learned to their home context. On balance, the drawbacks do not outweigh the benefits.