Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and air pollution problems. To some extent do you agree?

It seems that traffic and air pollution are insoluble problems in some countries. One of the suggestions to solve these problems is increasing the price of petrol. To a certain extent, I agree that it can decrease the traffic and air pollution; however I believe that there are some better strategies to deal with these problems.

There are some reasons that may justify the increase of the gasoline price by governments. Firstly, this limitation enforces people to use different type of public transportations such as, metros, buses, or taxis. Consequently, it may prevent the use of private cars in crowded cities. Secondly, it can put strain on some industries, which use petrol as a raw material, to transform their previous methods into some more sustainable methods and less fuel consuming machines.

On the other hand, I believe that these kinds of limitations should be accompanied with providing several essential requirements. In other words, if the cost of gasoline is raised, while there are not sufficient public transportation systems, it may exacerbate traffic problem. As a result, it is argued that the main role of government to solve these problems is supporting and providing the public transportation systems, and maybe in parallel with public transportation improvement, they should eventually raise the price of petrol.

In summary, there are some advantages for growing petrol price; however, there are several better programs can be taken into account to tackle traffic and air pollution problems by governments.