Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Pollution from burning fossil fuel is one of our modern day problem. Governments have taken several steps to deter this problem where charging high for petrol is one of them. Undoubtedly, this is one of the effective solution but other steps like imposing import duty for cars and improving public transport can help the process.

Firstly, in order to run a car people needs to buy gas so, simply by increasing the price of petrol will automatically discourage a certain portion of people to buy petrol. Specially, people who are on a tight budget, this will force them to think elsewhere. If we look closely then it becomes clear that the country where petrol price is relatively low tend to cause more air pollution. United Arab Emirates can be a good example of this, where per capita pollution is higher than any other country in the world.

Actually, by only increasing the price of petrol alone will not bring much fruitfulness. Other steps like imposing taxes to cars may help to reduce the number of cars overall. If we can reduce the car import from other countries then car usage will go down because only handful of countries manufacture cars. For instance, Singapore, where car tax is higher than the actual price thus helps to reduce cars.

Beside that, it is the responsibility of the government to give people the option to find an alternative to their cars. Most people these days are forced to drive finding to alternative. Government needs to build adequate public transport system as reliable as reliable as private transports. Increasing import tax on cars and at the same time giving people the option to use public transport will bring down the fossil fuel consumption.

In conclusion, Charging high for petrol can be effective solution but only this method alone cannot confront the pollution crisis hence other steps need to be taken.