Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution are ever increasing problems in the world. Some people believe that the most effective method to resolve these is to increase the cost of petrol. In my opinion, I mostly agree however, there are other factors that play important roles as well.

To embark with, with the rise in the price of fuel , its demand will definitely fall and the use of vehicles will be limited to important works only as they will be aware of their need to pay more for it. As it is, the price of everything is getting expensive everyday, they will not have more to spare for petrol either. This will help reduce the congestion and if the number of automobiles running are reduced then pollution will decrease simultaneously.

Despite the inclination in the cost of fuel, traffic has reduced to some extent but not entirely. In order to prevent traffic jams, the government should encourage people to use public transportation. Not only should they encourage, but should also provide with better facilities in terms of public transport. The government should opt for renewable sources of energy such as solar, wind and hydropower to run vehicles and factories which will subsequently decline pollution. Most importantly, it is self awareness without which, no matter how expensive the fuel is or the effect of pollution has over the world, one will not do anything about it.

In conclusion , although increase in the cost of petrol has resolved traffic and pollution to a great amount however supplemental factors such as the government, people and self awareness amongst them significantly contribute to the reduction of problems.