Individual can do nothing to improve our environment; only and large companies can make a difference

Environmental degradation is a major concern in our society. Some people are of the opinion that only the government and large firm can influence the environment positively and nothing can be done by individual to make the environment better. I complete disagree with this aforementioned view considering that a change in people's and environmental sanitation can contribute immensely in sustaining the environment.

To begin, one of the primary roles of individual in developing the environment is a change of attitude. There are several practices done by people that can be changed in improving our environment. These activities include accumulation of waste and improper waste disposal. People purchase varieties of items that are of no value to them thereby resulting in increase production of garbage. Also, this waster are hazardous and degrading to our environment if they are not properly disposed. To illustrate, the proportion of waste generated by households in the last two months upsurge by 38% and major of these households fails at disposing their waste properly as revealed in a survey conducted by Lagos state environmental agency. Reduction in purchase of irrelevant item will not only influence the atmosphere positively, it will as well benefit their finances and the economy.

Furthermore, sanitizing the environment will contribute substantially to the environment. Keeping the environment clean begins from individuals room and society. Rendering the vicinity free of toxic and harmful substances will contribute to the ecosystem. For instance, the youth's of Ibadan oyo state creates an initiative, in which they troop out in masses to clean out the city on the stipulated day. As a result, the city is transformed, well-clean and free of waste.

To sum up, sustaining the environment is the responsibility of everyone, i disagree with the opinion that individual has no role to play in sustaining the environment because proper waste disposal and environmental sanitation is vital to an eco-friendly environment.