The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations to reduce their consumption of fossil fuels e.g. gas and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a public concern that global society must have measure instantly to secure all nations to curb the amount of fossil fuels such as gas and oil. While this issue is burdensome to some extent, I strongly side with it. These would be elaborated below.

Firstly, non-renewable resources would be extinct in the near future. Specifically, unlike sunlight and solar power, fossil fuels are a finite energy resource. The amount of fossil fuels in the Earth today are result of several hundred million years which a significant amount of organic matter have long been decaying and decomposing. This means that, people would be unable to use their cars any more as we have not found an alternative energy source which works equivalently efficiently as petroleum. Consequently, the price of fossil fuels is also anticipated to increase, leading to a fuel war among the first-world countries. If all countries don't cut down their consumption of fossil fuels immediately, negative consequences would impact on the development of the entire countries in the world due to the disappearance of several important energy resources.

Secondly, it is undoubted that the main drawback of using non-renewable energy are destroying our Earth. Particularly, it is exploiting non-renewable energy at a higher speed that causes ozone depletion as well as global warming because burning of oil and coal have long been discharging tonnes of greenhouse gas per year. In fact, scientists point to a steady rise with a stronger period in the 70s in the 90s and a return to the rising pattern in the 2000s. Admittedly, it is true that the government in several nations have imposed high tax on gasoline to limit the use of private means of transportation such as cars, in turn curb fossil fuels rate. However, making kind of energy is still dangerous to the general health of our planet.

In conclusion, it is true that fossil fuels are a finite energy resource. I also completely convinced with the fact that the main disadvantage of using non-renewable energy have long been destroying our environment. Therefore, reducing amount of fossil fuels would be considered instantly.